Coffman Engineers

Skip Navigation

Ilana Almquist Selected for the SAME Inaugural Leader Development Program

March 28, 2019

Coffman Engineers is thrilled to announce that Ilana Almquist has been selected by the Society of American Military Engineers (SAME) to participate in the 2019-2020 class of the SAME Leader Development Program (LDP). A total of 18 individuals from across SAME were chosen for this professional development program. We would like to congratulate Ilana Almquist for being selected to be part of the inaugural LDP class.

Ilana Almquist is the marketing coordinator for Coffman’s Honolulu and Guam offices. She supports business development, marketing, and proposal efforts for both office locations while maintaining active involvement in SAME and other professional industry organizations.

 “We are proud of Ilana and the opportunity to be part of SAME’s inaugural Leader Development Program class,” said John Thielst, Vice President, Honolulu/Guam Managing Principal, Coffman Engineers. “Ilana has been instrumental in pursuing opportunities and making connections throughout the Pacific Region and we’re excited to see her pursue professional and personal growth in this program.”

Developed with support from the SAME Foundation, LDP identifies and cultivates talent from within SAME’s membership to address the nation’s grand challenges. The program supports the development of the next generation of world-class military, government, and industry leaders for the Society and our nation through a curriculum of hands-on training, study, and active engagement in new opportunities. Participants will explore individual strengths, team dynamics, and discover their potential personally and professionally. LDP is a yearlong commitment beginning at the Joint Engineer Training Conference (JETC) 2019 to be held in Tampa, Fla, May 7-9. The graduation of the first class will be held at the 2020 JETC in Washington D.C.

The full 2019-2020 LDP Inaugural Class includes:

  • Ilana Almquist, Coffman Engineers Inc. (Pacific Region)
  • Holly Bigelow, P.E., Wood (Europe Region)
  • Maj. Craig Bryant, USA, Fort Hood, Texas (TEXOMA Region)
  • Maj. Mark DeSouza, P.E., USAR, Thomas & Hutton (Carolinas Region)
  • Angela Gomez, KOMAN Construction LLC (Southwest Region)
  • Patricia Graham, EnSafe Inc. (New England Region)
  • Lt. Mike Guaigua, P.E., CEC, USN, NAVFAC EURAFSWA (International Committee)
  • Erin Krug, P.E., USACE St. Paul District (Great Lakes Region)
  • Sean Lebel, P.E., AECOM (Mid-Atlantic Region)
  • Lt. Cdr. Samuel Lee, P.E., CEC, USN, University of Washington (Northwest Region)
  • Melissa  Lewis, Scott AFB, Ill. (Missouri River Region)
  • Capt. Brendan Maestas, USAF, Air Force Institute of Technology (Ohio Valley Region)
  • Benjamin Nichols, Harkins Builders Inc. (North Atlantic Region)
  • Zakary Payne, P.E., Matrix Design Group (Rocky Mountain Region)
  • Claudia Penny, HCR Construction Inc. (South Atlantic Region)
  • Jorge Rodriguez, P.E., M.S. Hatch Consulting (California Region)
  • Mary Ruiz, Quaternary Resource Investigations (Lower Mississippi)
  • Stephen Shattuck, formerly with LandMark Engineering and Land Planning Inc. (South Central Region)

View the Official Press Release

Our Vision

To be the premier multidiscipline consulting engineering firm in our markets, providing integrated solutions where our success is measured by our clients' success.

Our Mission

We believe our success depends on our clients' success.

Ilana Almquist 1